Celebrate With Us 100 Years of Optimism


You  may be wondering what the St Cloud Morning Optimist Club have been doing during our Stay in Place request during the Covid 19 Pandemic
Congratulations to our Nine Optimist Scholarship Recipients. 
Each received a $1000 scholarship.
  1. Albany High School - Sophia Waletzko

  2. Apollo - Thomas Otto 

  3. Cathedral - Claire Hagen

  4. Foley - Austin Scott

  5. Rocori - Kathryn Beste

  6. St. Cloud Christian - Kilea Galligan

  7. St. Cloud Tech - CMCF/Tom Pierce Memorial scholarship - Olive McCarty,

  8. Sartell - Sadie Bauman, 

  9. Sauk Rapids-Rice - Ben Gilbertson, 

St. Cloud Morning Optimist Club Donates $28,000 to Area Youth Organizations

The members of the St. Cloud Morning Optimist Club have voted to contribute $28,000.00 to ten area community service organizations to assist with their work with youth during the COVID-19 crisis.

Donations were given to Big Brothers Big Sisters, Boys and Girls Club, Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, GREAT Theatre, United Way, YES Network, YMCA, and the food shelf programs at Catholic Charities and Salvation Army. Local Club president, Makayla Wijeratne, said that these donations will help us to fulfill our Optimist mission which is “providing hope and positive vision, Optimists bring out the best in youth, our communities, and ourselves.” Renee Dingmann, the Optimist Club’s lawful gambling donation contact person, sent donation request forms to these organizations and asked how the Optimist Club might be able to assist during these difficult financial times. Renee said, “we are very pleased that our members saw the critical needs of these organizations and voted to financially support them during this difficult time.”

Sidewalk Chalk Contest

In July the Optimist Club encouraged families to participate in a sidewalk contest.
Prizes were given to the most creative sidewalks. Thanks to all who participated.
This summer Optimist International encouraged clubs to get children involved in community activities. The St Cloud Club asked the Boys and Girls Club to participate in a drawing or painting contest related to Optimism.  Children had to be age 10 or under.  The club gave cash awards for 1st , 2nd, and 3rd place in each category.  Just recently our drawing by Evie Hiscock won 3rd place and Chloe Poissant won 2nd place in Painting from Optimist International.
In September nine of our St. Cloud Morning Optimist Club members completed the project for which we signed up. The 150 Math Kits for Gr. 3,4,5 at Boys & Girls Club were assembled and dropped off at the Roosevelt location shortly before noon. This club project was one of the many United Way Of Central Minnesota's Day of Caring projects being accomplished this week.